You’ve spent the last four to six months growing your blog and cultivating an audience. Now the number of visitors to the site increases day-to-day, and that means your project is growing at scale.
Well, you’ve done the hard work, and you deserve a return on your investment. So in this guide, you’ll learn how to sell ads on your blog to make money passively.
A blog isn’t just a platform where you express yourself, promote products, and sell your services.
It’s an asset, one to which advertisers are willing to pay premium rates if it can help them generate more revenue for their business.
In this guide, I’ll cut through the noise and show you exactly how to sell ads on your blog. I’ve based the guide on exactly how I’ve implemented ads on some of my revenue-generating websites.
Why You Should Sell Ads on Your Blog
Numerous content providers find themselves in a predicament. They've developed a big following on their blog, their content is of high quality, and they're receiving plenty of traffic.
The problem is:
They simply can’t think of a more suitable way to convert the visits into revenue.
I know because I’ve been in this situation myself. But things changed when I started looking into advertising as a monetization strategy. And after trying networks such as Ezoic and Mediavine, the only thing I regret is not having monetized the traffic sooner.
Selling ads generate revenue. From my firsthand experience, advertising is a technique that instantly converts a site with traffic into a source of income. With so many ad kinds available and targeting algorithms improving daily, it's easy to position advertising on your site in ways that align with your identity and consumer base.
4 Types of Ads You Can Sell On Your Blog
The following are the types of ads that you can sell on your blog:
1. CPA (Cost Per Action) Ads
CPA advertising is a monetization method whose payment option depends on the action a visitor takes.
Advertisers may be much more meticulous about the activities they want done with CPA ads. For example, they may state that they would pay only if a customer purchases one of their items.
As you may assume, CPA advertising is far more expensive in terms of cost per action. While you may get CPC advertisements for as little as $1, $2, or $3 per click, you're more likely to get at up to $50 per action in CPA advertising.
2. CPC Ads (Cost Per Click) Advertisement
For CPC, or cost per click, advertisers pay for the advertisements they purchase.
When an advertiser chooses to run CPC ads, how much they pay for each ad will depend on the cost per click. CPC advertisements are particularly popular with marketers since they ensure that they are only paying for genuine website visitors, not robot traffic or inactive.
These advertisements are extremely beneficial for marketers that have a solid sales funnel but are unsure about the quality of their ads. If they believe that a large number of people will make a purchase after clicking on the ad, but that a small number of people would click on it, it makes sense to pay simply for clicks.
3. CPM (Cost Per Millie) Ads
CPM is an abbreviation for cost per thousand impressions or views. With this type of ads, marketers pay for a CPM ad only when people view it.
For instance, an advertiser with a budget of $4,000 can get about two million impressions by running a CPM ad at a cost of $4. The marketer pays the $4 charge when 1,000 individuals have viewed the advertisement, regardless of whether they click the ad or not.
4. Flat Fee Ads
Flat-fee advertisements are ads purchased at a standard rate. Because this is the most straightforward pricing model available, it is popular with advertisers and website owners that value simplicity. With flat-fee advertising, there are no surprises. Website owners and advertisers have a clear picture of their future financial obligations.
For example, you can charge an agency $1,500 per month for a banner advertisement on your homepage. It's similar to running a billboard advertisement, only that you do it on your blog so it’s accessible to anyone who visits your website regardless of his or her demography.
How to Sell Ads on Your Blog
Now that you know why selling ads on your blog is important and the types of ads you can show on your site, here’s how to sell ads on your blog so that you can make money:
1. Join an Advertising Network
An ad network is a centralized and controlled network that connects advertisers with publishers. They act as a straightforward method of monetizing websites because they give publishers access to tools they can use to monetize and monitor their traffic’s performance.
Examples of advertising networks include:
- Google Adsense
- Revenue Hits
2. Sell Ad Space on Your Blog
Offer your own advertising space directly to businesses interested in connecting with your audience in a special way.
You should establish a pricing option for each ad spot on your blog and have the agency choose what best suits their budget.
The advantage of this strategy is that if your site has a big volume of visitors from a variety of sources, your basic ad cost may reach as high as $5000 per month.
Buy Sell Ads is the platform to use if you opt to sell ads on your blog by renting out ad banner space on the sidebar, footer, or within the content.
3. Sell Native Ads
Native advertising is the practice of selling ad space that integrates seamlessly with your website's content and design. Native advertisements might take the shape of sponsored articles, videos, or content recommendations.
Native advertising is critical because it targets audiences with relevant ad content without interfering with the user experience.
As consumers continue to experience ad fatigue, companies are looking for new methods to engage readers and viewers. You may provide these marketers options for native advertising and generate cash from your visitors.
Selling the right type of ads on your blog can make you more money depending on the amount of traffic your site gets.